1st Offense DWI
- Published: Tuesday, 06 December 2011 21:58
- Written by Dan
Charged with a First offense (1st) DWI in New Hampshire?
For many people, an arrest for dwi is their first contact with police, and usually the first time they have ever been arrested. I understand you are anxious, and fearful of what may happen to you. All DWI offenses in New Hampshire are criminal offenses. If you are found guilty, you will have a criminal record. For many people, this will lead to them losing their job.
Besides having a conviction on your record, all DWI convictions include mandatory license loss.The minimum license loss is 9 months, which can upon certain conditions be reduced to 90 days.
Unfortunately, New Hampshire does not have any hardship/work/Cinderella licenses. Not under and circumstances.
As of January 1, 2013, the penalties for DWI have increased. If convicted, there is a mandatory fine of $620, and you will have to complete an IDCMP alcohol screening within 14 days to determine if you need additional counseling. Once you complete the alcohol evaluation, you must complete a 20 hour alcohol program if you have not completed that program within the last 5 years. Assuming you don't get additional counseling, the costs of these programs are around $800.
Besides the criminal offense, if you refused a breath test, or other chemical test such as blood, you are facing an additional 6 months loss of license that will run in addition to all other license losses, such as the criminal offense, or habitual offender.
DWI is a major offense toward the habitual offender law. As few as two other major offenses within a 5 year period will deem you a habitual offender where you face a license loss of 1-4 years.
With so much as stake, you need a lawyer who really understands how complicated dwi cases are. From evidence, to science, to case law and statutes, the area of knowledge someone must have to give the best defense possible is vast. There are a few things the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt in order to obtain a DWI conviction. Discuss your case with a qualified NH DWI Lawyer, Attorney Hynes to get more details. Give me a call for a free phone consultation.
Other consequences include, or may include:
Travel prohibitions - Due to have a criminal record, you may not be able to get into certain countries. This includes Canada.
Increased insurance - DWI will likely raise your insurance, and now you must carry SR-22 insurance for three years.
Job Consequences - Some professionals will have difficulty obtaining employment, or may have their employment terminated due to a DWI conviction. Broadly, some people who may have trouble include: lawyers, doctors, people in the medical field, anyone who drives for a living, police officers, teachers.
Potential "aftercare" - Once you complete the 20 hour impaired driving course, which is mandatory to obtain your license back, they may require you to do additional counseling.
If caught operating after suspension of DWI, you face mandatory jail time of at least 7 days, an additional one year license loss, and an interlock device.
If you are under 21 you will lose your license for an extended period of time. At least 1 year.
CDL (commerical driver's license) will be suspended for 1 year for a first offense and lifetime for a second offense.
Immigation consequences - If you are not a citizen, your immigration status may be revoked, or you otherwise may not be eligible to become a citizen.
Restitution - If you cause physical injury to another person or property, you will have to pay the cost of restitution.
Lost income - If you are not fired from your job, if you cannot travel to work, this may cause you to lose your job.
In some cases, the cost of a DWI conviction can be in the tens of thousands of dollars. Not including attorney fees, a DWI conviction will usually cost people thousands of dollars.